Being Black in a Black man’s Land

If you have read a few of my posts, you would notice how I always talked about being dark skinned while living in India and the stigma that came with it.

So why bring up the topic again? Well, I noticed a few things about the Nigerian society which I wish to blab about. I created this blog to publish my rants on the internet. Today, that purpose shall be accomplished.

Since I came back, I noticed that whenever I would be ‘out and about’ I would always be called ‘blacky’. Which I did find annoying at first because, well, duh, we are all black here in Nigeria.

Usually, if you go out somewhere, anywhere, let’s say to the market, if you interact with the women selling, they’ll call you aunty or uncle. But I seem to be the only one who is being called ‘blacky’.

Sometimes, I would sit and ponder on this issue.

If I’m called ‘blacky’ in a nation located close to the equator, I can only imagine what went through the heads of those Indians who would call me kali.

They would have probably thought I was the modern version of kali or better still, the sexier version.

After doing further research and investigations as to why I am being called ‘blacky’, I found out from the guys that I was black but a different kind of black. Literally. That’s why they had to point it out?

How different? I asked.

These are the answers they gave and its going to sound very weird.

Guy No 1: You’re black but your black shines.
What?! What does that even mean?

Guy No 2: Your black is like real black.
Excuse me?!

Guy No 3: You have a pointed, triangular nose. You look different from many of us.
ooook. What does that have to do with my skin colour?

Gal No 1: Are you Ghanian or Fulani?
Emmmm, I’m from the Niger Delta.

Gal No 2: What soap do you use? I like your kind of black. I want to be your kind of black but every soap I use has caused my skin to bleach.
I use any soap I find in the bathroom. I’m tough like that.

As you can see, being called ‘blacky’ is not such a bad thing. I’m still not comfortable with it but atleast I know they mean no harm when they(Nigerians) say it.

Leave a Reply

