This is for you

Summer’s here, the flies are back, the dust is back, light bills are high (due to ACs), everywhere just seems polluted too, sometimes I feel like I might faint if I take one more breath. In a matter of days, there will be no more grapes or guavas, I feel terrible about this.

My time in India is drawing to a close, I feel sad about that, I want to go home but I don’t want to leave here. I’m scared of the future, I don’t know what it holds. Every now and then I feel alone, I think its all part of the “going-back-to-Nigeria” package.

I keep thinking about friends I’ll never see again, friends I may never get a chance to hug again and it breaks my heart. I’ve met so many wonderful people here and I don’t know what life would be without them close by. I’m scared.

Why do good things have to end? So that better ones can sprout- this is my consolation. I have Jesus, He’s my everything, He’s never failed me and I don’t think He will anytime soon He’s always been a great companion, but I guess its only human to be a little bit insecure.

My beautiful family is waiting for me, I can’t wait to give my dad that hug, I can’t wait to listen to those stories of the Biafran war my Grandpa has always told me and maybe someday turn it into a movie. I can’t wait for my 5 year old sister to sing the Dora the Explorer theme song and listen to how everything she sings makes absolutely no sense, I can’t wait to eat my mum’s Afang soup,but then, again I ask myself why do I feel sad if this is what awaits my return to Nigeria?

Ah, the life a young woman living abroad, sorry I meant, overseas.

Anyhoo, for the very few of you who’ve almost always been here for me, I’m truly grateful. This is to better times ahead.

Cheers!

One thought on “This is for you

Leave a Reply

