Similarities Between Nigeria and India II

This post is just a continuation on the former post.
I should inform you that I’m writing this out of boredom and also because I’ve noticed a few more things which I would love to share.

There are kiosks Everywhere

As is with Naija, you’ll definitely find a kiosk within distance of each other. This is to say that there’s always a shop to buy sweets, chewing gum, water and biscuits whenever you feel like. They also do the selling of recharge cards business, as well as the photostatting, spiral binding and lamination of any document you want. You can also Xerox(this is the popular term for photocopying)  your documents if you feel like or need to.

I wonder if there’s no competition between the shop owners. For Christ’s sake, you sell exactly the same products and brands of these products.

Here, the Punjabis are the ethnicity who are really into the big stores just as the Igbos of Nigeria are, and the Hindus are into the really, really petty shops(where they sell and chew that awful thing called tobacco) just as the Hausas are into selling cigarettes.

The Weather Is HOT!

OMG! I know I complained about the winter, and it’s not like I want it back. It’s just that the weather is flipping hot and humid and dusty and every other thing associated with a bad hot weather. It kind of gives this constant reminding of “If this is earth then what would hell be like? Sira!, don’t take(steal) John’s water” which my mind seems to take pleasure in doing. Its the same in Nigeria. I’m not fair but I don’t want invisible skin burns(nobody does). Besides, skin cancer can also be caused by over exposure to the sun. I also don’t want to lie to my friends about hanging out, but I have to. Thoughts of hell, cancer and lying are just a few things I have to suffer from the weather.

My daily routine these days is:

* Wake up real early and prepare for college.

*Leave before the sun starts glowing.

* Get to class just in time for me to abstain from its heat.

*Leave college by 5pm to avoid as much contact with it as possible.

Now, leaving the issue with sun avoidance, this is also a sub-routine:

*Get home really hungry and find out your water(this) has been taken by a roommate who refuses to get hers.

*Get into the shower, at least to cool down and there’s nature’s hot water running through the pipes.

*Get out of the  shower and try to recall how I came to India and why.

The People are really Religious or Spiritual

In Naija, we have the Muslims, Christians and the people who practice juju.

In India, its much more complex, they have Hindus(Brahmins,etc), Muslims(Sunni,Shia,etc), Jains(somehow hindu, not sure), Sikhs(I love them more,because they are mostly non-vegetarian and women are seen as equals) and there’s  a whole lot of deities.

Here, there are shrines on every corner, even in the middle of the road(I’ll try to get a picture of this).

We do our own juju discreetly, sha. haha!

Back to the main point, God is involved in everything- school, work, socialization, anything and everything.

The Citizens are Allowed to Take Justice into their own Hands

It is no news that the police always arrive late to any crime scene in Naija. It is the same here. Any evil doer who is caught is given some kind of prior punishment before he is handed over to the police. In Nigeria, if you are caught stealing, we see it as reaping where you did not sow(“you wan chop another man sweat, abi?”), so you’re done for. Especially, if it’s in a market, you might be burnt alive if the police don’t arrive to save you.  You’ll be beaten, first of all, and “you go remember the day your mama born you”.

In India, I don’t about the burning aspect but surely a group of mad-like people will beat the hell out of you with large sticks, stones and bricks. The proverb “Sticks and Stones MAY break my bones” will be “Sticks and Stones MUST break your bones”.

Just a few videos to prove my point:


 

 
This one has nothing to do with this post.Its hillarious.To me.
Indian guy is forced to marry

 

2 thoughts on “Similarities Between Nigeria and India II

Leave a Reply

